Blog Post: 1 minute read
I love the new OneDrive files on-demand feature included as part of the Windows 10 Fall Creators update.
I don’t usually write about Windows 10 features, but because the OneDrive sync client is used for OneDrive and SharePoint library syncing and is used extensively by end-users (which is what I usually do write about), I thought it was relevant. This Fall Creators update feature is a great usability and performance boost because it means an entire library/folder doesn’t need to be synced to local storage. This is something particularly important for those large SharePoint document libraries end-users may be trying to sync – I’ve seen a few.
This new feature plays in nicely with my typical Office 365 Adoption focus. Since this is a departure from the previous OneDrive client end-users are used to working with where everything was synced and stored locally, it is important to ensure the new status icons are understood by them so they can continue to work with their files whether or not they have an internet connection. You don’t want them thinking a file will be available offline and then realizing too late it has not been synced.
This is an excellent example of content to for an Office 365 Adoption Resource Centre in your organization. You do have one right? 😉
These icons let you know whether files are available only online or offline. Here are 3 files with each of the status icons:
If you’ve selected the ‘Always keep on this device’ option for a file, you’ll see this icon. These files use local storage space on that device.
These files are available offline, you can open them without an internet connection, and they’re taking up local storage space.
This file is only available when connected to the internet and doesn’t use any local storage. You’ll need to double-click the file to finish its download.
Force it Online or Offline
You can always force a file to consume local storage by selecting the ‘Always keep on this device’ file menu option.
Conversely, you can free up local storage so the file is only stored in the cloud by selecting the ‘Free up space’ menu option directly below it.
Thanks for reading.